Map of Cebu, Negros, Bohol, Leyte, Camotes Island, Camiguin, and Siquijor Island
August 10, 1862
Ink on Paper, 70.5 cm x 74.5 cm
National Archives of the Philippines Collection

. . .

This consolidated map of Cebu, Negros, Bohol, Leyte, Camotes, Camiguin and Siquijor Islands was printed in 1862. In that same year, the Royal Commissary was created to undertake an extensive survey of conditions in the Philippines, particularly the problems besetting local civil administration.

Examining the map further, it can be seen that a certain Domingo (surname not legible) executed the illustration and that it was done in Tagbilaran, Bohol on August 10, 1862.

On the other hand, the basic elements normally included in a map were not included. The eight (8) possible map elements are: data (or map) frame, map legend, map title, north arrow (or compass), map scale bar, metadata (or map citation), border (or neat line) and insert (or locator) map.

Based on the origin of the creator, one can surmise that the map may have been primarily focused on Bohol Island. Neighboring islands were included just to orient the map reader. The only map legends placed were illustrations of tall edifices (in Bohol) or circles with crosses (in other provinces) to indicate church locations.