Treaty of Paris (December 10, 1898)
Established the Office of Archives (formerly Spanish Division of Archives) under the American Authority which stipulated the relinquishment or cession of documents from Spanish to American authorities and provided for the preservation of documents whether they may be in Spain or in the Philippines.

Philippine Commission Act No.  273 (October 21, 1901)
Established the Bureau of Archives under the Department of Public Instructions (now Department of Education).

Reorganization Act No. 1407 (November 1, 1915)
Reduced the Bureau of Archives into a division.

Commonwealth Act No. 2572 (February 4, 1916)
Integrated the Division of Archives with Philippine Library and Museum.

Reorganization Plan No. 8-A (February 14, 1956)
Created the Bureau of Records Management (BRM) for coordinated management of official documents.

Executive Order No. 290 (March 14, 1958)
Provided for the organization of the Bureau of Records Management under the Department of General Services with the Division of  Archives as one of its divisions.

Presidential Decree No. 1 (September 24, 1972)
Reorganized the Executive Branch and renamed the BRM to Records Management and Archives Office (RMAO).

Executive Order No. 285 (July 25, 1987)
Classified RMAO as a cultural agency attached to the Department of Education, Culture and Sports (DECS).

Executive Order No. 80 (March 15, 1999)
Transferred RMAO to the Office of the President attached to the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA)  for program and policy coordination.

Republic Act No. 9470 (May 21, 2007)
Strengthened the system of management and administration of archival records, establishing for the purpose, the National Archives of the Philippines.